• Post category:Sports / Tennis

Stellenbosch, South Africa – Tennis South Africa (TSA) announced the seeds and wildcards for the Digicall Futures 1 on Friday (today).

The Digicall Futures 1 will be played in Stellenbosch from Monday 2 November with the final played on Sunday 8 November at the Maties Tennis Club on the University of Stellenbosch sporting grounds.

The qualifying rounds for the tournament will be from Saturday 31 October and Sunday 1 November. This tournament will see players from 12 different countries taking part.

Both the men’s and the women’s draw are 32 draws.

The men’s seeds are led by Pascal Brunner of Austria who is currently ranked 412 on the ATP World Tour Rankings. Brunner won the Austrian and Slovenian Futures titles this year.

Brunners is seeded to meet South African Davis Cup player Nik Scholtz in the final. Third seed is Capetonian and rising South African star in his last year as a junior, Lloyd Harris. Scholtz and Harris are ranked 450 and 497 respectively.

The only other South Africa man to make the men’s seedings is Keith-Patrick Crowley seeded 7.

The women’s seeds are led by Hungarian Naomi Totka. Totka is currently ranked 391 on the WTA Rankings and was winner of the Egypt Futures in April this year.

Second seed is German Jasmin Jebawy who is ranked 607.

The only South African in the top 8 is fourth seed Madrie Le Roux who is currently ranked 788 on the WTA Rankings.

The seeds were announced as follows;


1-Pascal Brunner (Aut)

2-Nik Scholtz (RSA)

3-Lloyd Harris (RSA)

4-Javier Pulgar-Garcia (Esp)

5-Lucas Miedler (Aut)

6-James Marsalek (GBR)

7-Keith-Patrick Crowley (RSA)

8-Dekel Bar (Isr)


1-Naomi Totka (Hun)

2-Jasmin Jebawy (Ger)

3-Jaeda Daniel (USA)

4-Madrie Le Roux (RSA)

5-Katharina Hering (Ger)

6-Alexandra Riley (USA)

7-Luisa Marie Huber (Ger)

8-Amelie Intert (Ger)

The wildcards were announced as follows;


Timothy Dollman (RSA), Chevaan Davids (RSA), Johannes Myburgh (RSA), Lloyd Segal (RSA), Matthew Johnson (RSA) and Yaseen Ibrahim (RSA).


Nicole Petchy (RSA), Lesedi Jacobs (Nam), Yijia Shao (Chn) and Shannon Cox (RSA).