Top SA junior tennis players do battle in Durban
Dunlop continues its support for tennis development

Durban, South Africa – Tennis fever is at an all-time high with the Wimbledon Championships on the go in London. And this “Wimbledon fever” has gripped the KwaZulu-Natal coastal city of Durban where over 500 tennis players from across the country will participate in the Dunlop Junior Challenge which takes place from 2nd to 6th July 2014.


The annual tournament is KwaZulu-Natal’s premier junior event and forms part of the Key Health series, making it one of the most prestigious junior tennis tournaments in the country. One of the strongest line-ups of players in the history of the tournament has confirmed their entry for the 2014 event.


Boys and girls in the under 12, 14, 16 age categories, will compete at different tennis clubs throughout eThekwini as well as at the KwaZulu-Natal and Durban Tennis Association headquarters at Westridge Park Tennis Stadium in Mayville, Durban. In addition to these age groups there will be an open tournament for senior men and women which falls in line with Tennis South Africa’s aims and objectives to encourage players exiting the junior ranks to continue to remain competitive in the game.


Gavin Crooks, President of KwaZulu-Natal Tennis says KZN Tennis is ready to deliver a great event. “We are excited to be hosting another edition of the Dunlop Junior Challenge. The tournament has proved to be a success in the past and together with our sponsors, Dunlop, we are looking to make this flagship tournament one of the best of the year.”


“What is a major attraction for the tournament is that it is played over the last weekend of the third Grand Slam of the year Wimbledon when tennis fever is at an all-time high” continued Crooks.


Super-Brands Dunslaz Sales Manager, Steve Gallienne said that his company’s brand, Dunlop is happy to be part of the tournament. “We are delighted to be associated with an event boasting the cream of South Africa’s junior tennis players. As one of the world’s leading brands, we continue to commit ourselves to the development of tennis in our country especially at grassroots level.”


The seeds have been announced as follows;

Boys Singles Under 12

  1. Khololwam Montsi
  2. Sam Mcquirk
  3. Connor Kruger
  4. Tom Mchugh
  5. Carl Roothman
  6. Andreas Scott
  7. Nicos Efstratiou
  8. Ruben Fortuin

Girls Singles Under 12

  1. Rochelle Pienaar
  2. Gizelle Naude
  3. Maria Mostert
  4. Christell De Kock
  5. Christine Kruger
  6. Deanri Snyman
  7. Inge Greyling
  8. Neo Mafuyeka

Boys Singles Under 14

  1. Siphosothando Montsi
  2. Hugh Morgan
  3. Justin Liebenberg
  4. Gerhardt Becker
  5. Jonathan Bulmer
  6. Kyle Johnson
  7. Martin Dijkhuis
  8. Charl Morgan

Girls Singles Under 14

  1.  Maja Gledic
  2. Jessica Assenmacher
  3. Megan Lombardi
  4. Lara Van Der Merwe
  5. Tayo Adetunji
  6. Vanessa Chigariro
  7. Danielle Arndt
  8. Georgina Kaindoah

Boys Singles Under 16

  1. Damon Kesaris
  2. Richard Thongoana
  3. Jan Berry
  4. Nikolai Manchev
  5. Cameron Petersen
  6. Dylan Walters
  7. William Thatcher
  8. Juan-Louis Van Antwerpen

 Girls Singles Under 16

  1. Corin De Waal
  2. Lenka De Waal
  3. Jeanne Klopper
  4. Lise Stofberg
  5. Hanri Stofberg
  6. Amelie Boy
  7. Brieta Pienaar
  8. Jana Van Der Merwe

Men’s Singles

  1. Lance Cohen
  2. Kyle Gerber
  3. Philip Franken
  4. Clayton Herb
  5. Jason Harris
  6. Rayne Roselt
  7. Joshua Chetty
  8. Reinhard Pelser

Women’s Singles

  1. Caitlin Herb
  2. Nelise Verster
  3. Shannon Cox
  4. Tracey Bulmer
  5. Lienke De Kock
  6. Robyn Bulmer
  7. Kymberlie Van Der Bank
  8. Genevieve Barnes