London, United Kingdom – South Africa have drawn Turkey in the opening round of the 2015 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Euro/Africa Zone Group 11 draw.

The draw was conducted at the International Tennis Federation headquarters offices in London this morning.

The tie between South Africa and Turkey will take place 6 to 8 March 2015. Turkey will have the home ground advantage.

South Africa and Turkey have never played each other before.
South Africa and Latvia top the seedings for the group.

Seeded nations:

  • South Africa
  • Latvia
  • Portugal
  • Moldova
  • Bosnia/Herzegovina
  • Finland
  • Belarus
  • Luxembourg

The seeded nations were drawn against the remaining nations: Bulgaria, Hungary, Ireland, Madagascar, Monaco, Morocco, Turkey and Zimbabwe. Because Bulgaria and Finland have been drawn to meet each other in the first round in both 2013 and 2014, they were drawn in different halves. The four African nations in Europe/Africa Zone Group II in 2015 according to Davis Cup Regulation 23(c), were placed in different sections of the draw. South African Davis Cup Captain, John Laffnie De Jager said “We are very happy with the draw. It will be a new year with new challenges. Some of our guys have played some futures in Turkey so they will know the conditions. We have a few players that will compete for spots on the team so we will create a healthy and competitive atmosphere in the team. The goal will be to be promoted to group 1 in 2016 but we will focus on one match at a time.”