Western Cape Cricket (Pty) Ltd announced the Cape Cobras 15-strong squad to travel to the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) tournament which will take place in India from 13 September to 4 October 2014. It is:

  1. Justin Ontong (Captain)
  2. Hashim Amla
  3. Jean-Paul Duminy
  4. Justin Kemp
  5. Rory Kleinveldt
  6. Charl Langeveldt
  7. Richard Levi
  8. Aviwe Mgijima
  9. Robin Peterson
  10. Vernon Philander
  11. Dane Piedt
  12. Zakhele Qwabe
  13. Omphile Ramela
  14. Stiaan Van Zyl
  15. Dane Vilas

The Cobras fast bowling resources will be somewhat depleted, but coach Paul Adams, fresh from coaching the SA ‘A’ team in Australia, remains quietly optimistic that the Cobras will be competitive. Beuran Hendricks was not considered for selection because of a back injury. Dale Steyn is not available because of the need to keep him fit for national commitments. New Cobras signing and national player, Mathokosizi Shezi, was ineligible because he did not play for the Cobras in the Ram Slam last season. Jacques Kallis will be playing for his IPL team Kolkota Knight Riders instead of the Cobras. The only new cap is fast bowler Zakhele Qwabe, who played for Boland as a semi-pro last season, while
the veteran Charl Langeveldt has been recalled from retirement to add depth to the bowling as well.

The Cobras, who have now won seven of the last 12 South African domestic trophies, will be finalising their pre-tournament preparations in a training camp in Potchefstroom starting this week.

The Cobras’ CLT20 schedule is as follows:

Sat, 4 Oct.Bangalore20h00Final

Fri, 19 Sept Raipur 20h00 Cape Cobras vs Q2
Sun, 21 Sept. Hyderabad 16h00 Cape Cobras vs Hobart Hurricanes
Fri, 26 Sept Mohali 16h00 Cape Cobras vs Barbados Tridents
Sun, 28 Sept Mohali 20h00 Cape Cobras vs KXIP
Thu, 2 Oct. Hyderabad 16h00 Semi-final 1
Hyderabad 20h00 Semi-final 2
Sat, 4 Oct. Bangalore 20h00 Final