• Seeds released for Dunlop Classic
  • Tennis Fever hits the City of Gold
  • Dunlop continues its support for tennis development  


Johannesburg, South Africa – Tennis fever has hit the City of Gold as over 340 tennis players from across the country have arrived in Johannesburg to participate in the Dunlop Classic which takes place from 8 – 12 July 2014.

The annual tournament is the Gauteng Central Tennis Association’s premier junior event and is part of the KeyHealth series, making it one of the most prestigious junior tennis events in the country. An impressive line-up of top players have entered for the Johannesburg event.

Boys and girls in the under 12, 14, 16 and Open age categories, will compete in singles and doubles events at different tennis clubs throughout the City of Johannesburg as well as at Gauteng Central Tennis Association’s headquarters, the famous Ellis Park Tennis Stadium.

Bruce Gray, President of Gauteng Central Tennis Association says his Association is ready to deliver a great event. “We are excited at hosting another edition of the Dunlop Classic. The tournament has proved to be a success in the past and together with our sponsors, Dunlop, we are looking to make this our flagship tournament of the year.”

Brand President for Dunslaz Sport, Steve Gallienne said that his company’s brand, Dunlop is happy to be part of the tournament. “We are delighted to be associated with an event boasting the cream of South Africa’s junior tennis players. As one of the world’s leading brands, we continue to commit ourselves to the development of tennis in our country especially at grassroots level”, he said.

Gallienne also said that the timing of the tournament was appropriate as it was being played after Wimbledon. “Tennis is still the hot talking point right now after Wimbledon in London. Slazenger (the sister brand of Dunlop) are the only sponsor of Wimbledon and so let’s say that in Joburg we will be having our “Mini Wimbledon” on the go after the greatest tennis show on earth.”

The seeds for the tournament are as follows:

Boys 12

1. Robbie Arends (WP)

2. Tinashe Taruberekera (GC)

3. Connor Kruger (GN)

4. Tom Mchugh (Bol)

5. Andreas Scott (GC)

6. Codie Van Schalkwyk (WP)

7. Carl Roothman (Bol)

8. Dylan Salton (GE)


Girls 12

1. Marne Dercksen (EP)

2. Rochelle Pienaar (EP)

3. Anique Engelbrecht (GC)

4. Delien Kleinhans (FS)

5. Ashlee Andrew (GE)

6. Gizelle Naude (FS)

7. Abner Dickson (GC)

8. Jana Van Vreden (Bol)


Boys 14

1. Hugh Morgan (GC)

2. Gerhardt Becker (GN)

3. Jonathan Bulmer (GC)

4. Joubert Klopper (FS)

5. Pierre Malan (WP)

6. Martin Dijkhuis (GC)

7. Charl Morgan (GC)

8. William Wilson (GN)


Girls 14

1. Maja Gledic (GC)

2. Angela Georgieva (GC)

3. Jessica Assenmacher (GC)

4. Megan Lombardi (Bol)

5. Alexis Tensfeldt (GC)

6. Evangeline Du Toit (Bol)

7. Vanessa Chigariro (WP)

8. Sasha Taruberekera (GC)


Boys 16

1. Jd Malan (WP)

2. Lance-Pierre Du Toit (Bol)

3. Michael Copeland (GC)

4. Jordan Sauer (GN)

5. Nikolai Manchev (KZN)

6. Jandre’ Lessing (EP)

7. Hubert Badenhorst (FS)

8. Cameron Petersen (GC)


Girls 16

1. Jon-Bene Potgieter (FS)

3. Casandra Metzer (GE)

4. Jeanne Klopper (FS)

5. Lesshika Vala (MP)

6. Brieta Pienaar (EP)

7. Ariel Dickson (GC)

8. Nadia Van Heerden (GC)



1. Ruben Alberts (GN)

2. Reinhardt Trollip (GN)

3. Refiloe Molaoa (Lim)

4. Lloyd Segal (GC)

5. Aidan Carrazedo (GC)

6. Philip Franken (Bol)

7. Redge Rostron (GE)

8. Raubenheimer Gerber (GN)



1. Caitlin Herb (GN)

2. Nadine De Villiers (GC)

3. Lenice Van Eyk (GN)

4. Rouxanne Janse Van Rensburg (Bol)

5. Nelise Verster (FS)

6. Tyra Timm (GC)

7. Tracey Bulmer (GC)

8. Ciney Bekker (Bol)