The Department of Police hosts National Police Day and the National Excellence Awards in the North West Province
Pretoria, Monday 30 January 2017: The Department of Police hosted the Annual National Police Day event and the National Excellence Awards in the North West Province on Friday, 27 January 2017.
The 27th of January was declared by Cabinet as National Police Day. This is a day to celebrate and honour members of the SAPS for their hard work, dedication in the fight against crime and commitment to serving all communities in South Africa.
The Minister of Police, the police’s top management and personnel celebrated National Police Day with the community of Ikageng Village in Boitekong near Rustenburg. The Minister and the police donated school uniforms to needy learners of Lerulhware Primary School, food parcels to the community and handed over a house to an eighty-year-old woman, Ms Johanna Kolobe as part of the SAPS’s social crime prevention programme which addresses the root causes of crime. The elderly lady is staying with her four minor grandchildren in a shack and they only survive on the pension she receives.
The celebrations were followed by the fourth annual National Excellence Awards which were held at the Superbowl at Sun City in recognition and honour of the extraordinary efforts of employees of the SAPS. These are the men and women who stood out as being truly dedicated to their calling and who excelled in the execution of their duties, their commitment to uplift needy communities and who performed acts of exceptional bravery. The Minister and Deputy Minister of Police, Police Chiefs from neighbouring countries and other dignitaries attended the event.
During both the National Police day celebrations and the National Excellence Awards ceremony, tribute was paid to our colleagues who made the ultimate sacrifice by giving their lives in the execution of their duties.
The Minister of Police, Mr N Nhleko, noted that on Friday night “the stars are not in the skies, they are among us,” referring to the finalists and winners. He also said that the National Excellence Awards were focused on what matters, “the way we serve our citizens at all times”.

The Deputy Minister of Police, Ms MM Sotyu, congratulated the SAPS on the good work performed during the Safer Festive Season. “Today we recognise and celebrate achievements of police employees, whether in uniform or not,” said Ms Sotyu.
The Acting National Commissioner, Lieutenant General Khomotso Phahlane congratulated all provincial nominees and winners, as well as all national nominees, finalists and winners present and said that their presence is an indication of the organisation’s sincere appreciation for their outstanding efforts.
He motivated the recipients as follows: “We must continue to be visible, to react to and investigate each crime with vigour, our intelligence must lead us in crime prevention and detection and we must tackle criminals and crime trends robustly, yet strictly within the confines of the law.”
The categories for the National Excellence Awards with their respective winners were announced as follows:

* Administration Employee of the Year Level 1-7
Administration Clerk Grant Daniel Strydom

* Administration Employee of the Year Level 8-12
Lieutenant Colonel Hilton Ian Henstock

* Administration Team of the Year
Lieutenant Colonel Modisaotsile Samuel Nkosi

* Visible Policing Employee of the Year Level 5-7
Constable Diresh Naidoo

* Visible Policing Employee of the Year Level 8-12
Lieutenant Colonel Willem Van Wyk

* Visible Policing Team of the Year
Sergeant Severiano Yannick Blundin

* Detective Employee of the Year Level 5-7
Constable Tlhabana Julius Nkgoeng

* Detective Employee of the Year Level 8-12
Lieutenant Colonel Ignatius Michael Van Aardt

* Detective Team of the Year
Captain Nono Johannah Seema

* Crime Intelligence Employee of the Year Level 5-7
Sergeant André Fred Strauss

* Crime Intelligence Employee of the Year Level 8-12
Colonel Malepile Paulinah Ntsoereng

* Crime Intelligence Team of the Year
Colonel Malepile Paulinah Ntsoereng

* Senior Manager of the Year (Administration) Level 13-15
Brigadier Jacobus Hendrik Louw Bonthuys

* Senior Manager of the Year (Operational) Level 13-15
Major General Phumzo Eric Gela

* Best Station of the year
SAPS Brits

* Reservist of the year
Reservist Constable Marlon Wessels

* Person with disability of the year
Warrant Officer Margrietha Magdalena Dietrichsen

* Community Policing Forum of the Year

* Woman of the Year
Captain Cynthia Jabulile Ndubane

* Man of the Year
Sergeant Kgabo Ronny Ramara

* Sports man of the Year
Constable Jeffrey Gladstone Shabangu

* Sports woman of the Year
Constable Mahlako Patricia Napo

* Sports Person with Disability
Warrant Officer Shaun Ricardo De Bruyn

* National Commissioner’s Award
Constable Nikiwe Esther Mokatsanyane
Sergeant Severiano Yannick Blundin
* Deputy Minister’s Award
Detective Constable Lutendo Sheron Maluleke

* Minister’s Award
Colonel Ramantsane Peter Matabane
Colonel Jonas Rampate Phangiso

· Audience Award: Individual Category
Constable Tlhabana Julius Nkgoeng

· Audience Award: Team Category
Sergeant Severiano Yannick Blundin

Captain Nono Johannah Seema